Press Release

Michael Huddleston Receives Russell H. McMains Legends of Texas Insurance Law Award

May 27, 2020

The Insurance Section of the State Bar of Texas has presented Michael W. Huddleston with the “Russell H. McMains Legends of Texas Insurance Law Award.” The Insurance Law Section from time to time presents the Russell H. McMains Legends of Texas Insurance Law Award to recognize a senior Texas insurance lawyer who represents the highest levels of accomplishment, competence, professionalism, and ethics in the practice of insurance law, and who inspires others to do likewise. The award is the most significant recognition for Texas insurance law practitioners.

The award is named for the late Russell H. (“Rusty”) McMains, who was a Chair of the Section and one of its founders, and who epitomized the type of practitioner the award is designed to honor. Huddleston is a past-Chair of the Insurance Section, one of the original four officers and a founder of the Section. Huddleston was recently elected Secretary/Treasurer of the American College of Coverage Counsel, and he is Chair of the Insurance Recovery Practice Group at Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr, P.C.

The award was presented on Zoom by Section Chair William Chriss, a close friend of Rusty McMains. On receiving the award, Huddleston observed: “To receive an award named after Rusty McMains is an incredible honor. I had the challenge of defending cases against Rusty and combining forces in other matters. He was a great, creative lawyer and great friend.” Huddleston gave credit to his mentors, R. Brent Cooper and Jim E. Cowles, and his long-time partners and colleagues, including fellow Munsch Hardt Senior Counsel Steve Gibson, and the support of his firm.